Get to know the 2020 Honoree Celebration Nominees

Share this page:

Nonprofit of the year nominees:

Blue Spruce Kiwanis Club of Evergreen: Kiwanis is a global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time. The Evergreen Chapter participates in numerous fundraising activities and take a hands -on approach to helping in the community and improving the lives of children locally and worldwide.

Bootstraps, Inc.: Since 1945, Bootstraps has served more than 2,000 promising mountain-area students through scholarships and interest free loans. Many students return to the area to live and work, giving back to their neighbors in many ways. In partnership with the community, Bootstraps helps future generations achieve their goals of higher education. All scholarships and loans are funded by local individuals, businesses, civic groups, and private foundations.

Center for the Arts Evergreen: Center for the Arts Evergreen provides quality art instruction, exhibitions, and events. Their main gallery showcases local and nationally-acclaimed artists in both curated and juried exhibitions. They offer myriad educational opportunities for adults and children in the visual arts, writing, and art history.

Epic 4x4 Quest: Nonprofit organization with a mission of helping law enforcement members and their family while raising awareness of issues affecting law enforcement.

*not eligible to win* Evergreen Christian Outreach: Evergreen Christian Outreach serves 300+ local families with a food bank, jobs program, emergency financial help and other programs to help families move towards self-sufficiency and sustainability.

Evergreen Music Festival: Evergreen Music Festival honors our military personnel every 4th of July while providing outstanding musical entertainment! Wonderful food & drink, Rotary Club car show. This year they are premiering a Memorial Day festival!

Evergreen Public Schools: Bergen Meadow Elementary, Bergen Valley Elementary, Parmalee Elementary, Wilmot Elementary, Evergreen Middle School, Evergreen High School.

*not eligible to win* Mountain Resource Center: Mountain Resource Center is a nonprofit providing an array of services including Community Support, Family Education, Workforce, Health Care Insurance Eligibility, Veterans support, Emergency Services to Conifer and the 285 corridor.

Jefferson Center: Jefferson Center is a nonprofit, community-focused mental health care and substance use services provider.

Volunteer of the year nominees:

Bruce Anderson: Volunteers for the Evergreen Rotary Club, Salvation Army Bell Ringing, Evergreen Recycle Day, Foothills Home and Garden Show, Center for the Arts Evergreen, Boogie at the Barn and the Evergreen Chamber and he is in Leadership Evergreen Class of 2019. Bruce owns Anderson Insurance Agency with Farmers Insurance.

Cathleen Timmons: Volunteers at Evergreen Animal Protective League coordinating adoptions, fundraising efforts, and organizing events such as 'Zombie Run' and 'Dogs on the Catwalk'.

Kristy Tolan: Volunteers as the Board President for Blue Spruce Kiwanis.

Marilyn Saltzman: Volunteers as Board President for Mountain Resource Center.

Dusty Dodge: Volunteers at Blue Spruce Habitat, including being Board President since 2017 and participating in several Habitat Global Village trips oversees. He also assists local single parents in need of help with auto repairs through Hands of the Carpenter.

Ambassador of the year nominees:

Carol O'Brien: Carol remained fully engaged and active at ribbon cuttings and events during the pandemic and showed true dedication to Chamber members. Carol owns and operates Carol O'Brien Architecture.

Janice Holmes: Janice is actively engaged in the community and worked to infuse a new energy in the Evergreen Chamber of Commerce Ambassador program. Janice is brand representative at Payroll Vault Jefferson County.

Leader of the year nominees:

Lesley Dahlkemper - Jefferson Country Commissioner: Leslie is a local leader who went the extra mile to help our local businesses and residents through the hardships of 2020. She hosted and attended additional meetings with our area Chambers of Commerce, held public meetings for constituents to ease fears and receive feedback, and she did all of this with grace, poise, and compassion. Leslie also organized and currently chairs the Jeffco Wildfire Risk Reduction Task Force increasing awareness of the high risk of wildfire.

Betsy Hays - Mount Evans Healthcare & Hospice: As President of the Evergreen Chamber until mid September, Betsy showed exemplary leadership and was a champion for local businesses. She initiated new programs that were instrumental in promoting businesses in the mountain community.

Cindy Latham - Latham Consulting Services: Cindy was instrumental in starting and currently serves as the chair of Rotary Wildfire Ready (RWR) in partnership with the Mountain Area Rotary Clubs, Community Leaders, and Local Fire Departments.

Youth of the year nominees:

Alexa Weakley - Evergreen High School: Alexa is a member of the National Honor Society, Young Rotary Leadership, and mentors young students through the Link Leader program at Evergreen High School. She has volunteered many hours to EChO, Mountain Backpack, Salvation Army Bell Ringing and other community service organizations.

Serena Weingardt - Evergreen High School: Serena has lettered in Community Service every year of high school accumulating over 369 hours of service. Has volunteered with organizations such as Girl Scouts, Explorer Scouts, Denver Zoo, KACF, Mountain Youth Musicals, and National Get Outside Day.

Molly Widlund - Conifer High School: Molly is an officer of the National Honor Society and an athlete and she helped start the Conifer Humanitarian Society club at Conifer High School.